Sète : A must to see

//Sète : A must to see
Sète : A must to see 2018-06-11T09:09:09+00:00

Sète and its region

Sète is said the Venice of the region due to its multiple specific charms. Between Mont St Clair which overlooks the fishing ports at its feet and the pond of Thau at its side, the sunny little town crossed by canal is always lively.

Paul Valery et Georges Brassens are the two famous sons of the town. Each of them paid particular tribute to the beauty of Sete which plays with the sea, the garrigues, the wines and the ponds.

A bit of history

Created by a royal decision in 1666 “cette” was erected by three men: Paul Riquet seeking an access onto the Mediterranean for the Canal du Midi, Louis XIV seeking a harbour for his royal ships and hoping to create an exporting port for the Languedoc products and the Knight of Clerville who was asked by Colbert for finding a suitable area to create a port.

The isle of Sète offers an exceptional experience. Side ports, fishing boats, recreational boats, ferries and the jousters coloured boats always bustle. In the old part of the town…

Museums

George Brassens, Paul Valéry, Jean Vilar, Hervé Di Rosa and Rosa Combas. Whats Sètes secret to creating artists? Come and see and you will find out!

The regional centre of contemporary art of the Langdoc – Roussillon, with L’espace Brassens, the Paul Valéry museum and the International des Arts Modestes museum, all show permanent and temporary exhibitions all year round.

The tourism office offer rather original audio route guides

L’espace George Brassens which is dedicated to the artist, is a lively venue thanks to new techniques of pictures and sound. Supplied with headphones, visitors can be guided by George Brassens who talks about his life and collections. To end the visit unseen films and recitals are shown in the video room.

The best places in Sète

The regional specialities include local produce from the sea and locally grown produce, both which mix very well together. We enjoy sea bass, fresh sardines and Tielle, a speciality of Séte, a pie which consists of cuttlefish mixed in a tomato sauce cooked on a wood fire. When in the hills, the land of the shrubbery, the vines and the olives, we grow grapes and press them with flavoured oil; this is done to liven up the fish and to quench the thirst at every good local table.

A must to see

Market with home made products in the Corniche: Thursday morning

Quay Général Durand: commonly known as the marina where there are many popular restaurants. The menu: fish of the Mediterranean and shellfish from the pond of Thau. Bouzignes, the oyster capital. There are also restaurants and bistros on the edge of the lake.

Frontignan: The land of Muscat the colour of gold which will delight your taste buds but must be consumed in moderation.

Marseillan: Visiting the wine cellars of Noilly Prat will require the same moderation as the previous visit.

Sète Festivals

All events on Tourism Office website.

Sète, Guide pratique

Sète, Guide pratique 2018-07-20T15:18:57+00:00

Sète et sa région

Sète est une petite Venise Languedocienne qui déploie avec talent ses charmes et ses atouts. Entre le Mont St Clair qui la surplombe, le port de pêche à ses pieds et l’étang de Thau à ses côtés, cette petite ville au regard ensoleillé, traversée par ses canaux, est toujours en pleine effervescence.

Paul Valery et Georges Brassens, en sont les fils les plus célèbres. Ils y reposent aujourd’hui. Ils ont chacun à leur façon rendu hommage à la beauté de cette cité qui flirte avec la mer, la garrigue, la vigne et les étangs.

Un peu d’histoire…

Créée sur décision royale en 1666, « Cette » est née de la volonté de trois hommes : Paul Riquet qui cherchait un débouché sur la Méditerranée pour le canal du Midi, Louis XIV qui cherchait une rade pour ses galères royales et souhaitait créer un port d’exportation pour les produits du Languedoc et le chevalier de Clerville à qui Colbert demanda de trouver le cap le plus approprié pour édifier un port.

Sète, l’île singulière, vous invite donc à vivre l’exceptionnel. Côté port, chalutiers, bateaux de plaisance, ferries, barques colorées des jouteurs, s’activent à toute heure. Côté vieille ville, les marchés, la criée, les festivals de musique, les musées modernes ou populaires donnent le tempo. En août, à la fête de la St Louis, la petite ville portuaire revêt ses plus beaux atours et fait les yeux doux à celui qui remportera les joutes.

Musées

Georges Brassens, Paul Valéry, Jean Vilar, Hervé Di Rosa, Robert Combas … Mais quel secret possède Sète pour faire naître tant de vocations artistiques ? Venez voir, vous comprendrez !

Le Centre Régional d’Art Contemporain Languedoc-Roussillon, L’espace Brassens, Le musée Paul Valéry et le Musée International des Arts Modestes, présentent des expositions permanentes et temporaires à découvrir tout au long de l’année.

Territoire gastronomique

Où les produits de la mer et de la terre ont trouvé connivence.

Toute la semaine, nos marchés locaux vous invitent à découvrir la richesse du terroir (le halles, les marchés hebdomadaires et artisanaux…)  On savoure les loups de mer et les sardines fraîches, on découvre la Tielle, cette tourte à la tomate et à la seiche cuite au feu de bois. Quant aux collines, pays de la garrigue, des vignes et de l’olive, on élève les raisins et l’on presse l’huile aromatisée qui viendra agrémenter le poisson cuisiné et étanché la soif de toutes les bonnes tables sétoises.

A ne manquer!

  • Bouzigues, capitale de l’huître de l’étang de Thau. Restaurants et bistrots en bord d’étang.
  • Frontignan ; pays du muscat à la couleur dorée qui enchante les papilles mais que l’on doit consommer avec modération.
  • Marseillan, la visite des caves du Noilly Prat demande la même rigueur qu’à la visite précédente.

Les festivals à Sète

Liste des manifestations sur le site de l’office du tourisme